The Keir Choreographic Award (KCA) is a national biennial award dedicated to commissioning new Australian choreographic short works and promoting innovative, experimental and cross-artform practices in contemporary dance across Australia and internationally. The Keir Choreographic Award aims to expand the profile and debate around choreographic practice in Australia.

Expressions of Interest for the 2020 Keir Choreographic Award are now open. One of Australia’s most prestigious choreographic awards, the recipient of the KCA will receive $50,000. Professional artists with an established practice are encouraged to apply by 14 July 2019. The Keir Choreographic Award jury, featured below, will assess the applications and eight short-listed works will be provided with commissioning funds to realise their idea in March 2020.

Presented by Carriageworks, Dancehouse, The Keir Foundation and the Australia Council for the Arts.

Nana Bilus Abaffy, Post Reality Vision, Keir Choreographic Award, Image Zan Wimberley 2018

18 Jun Applications Open

14 Jul Applications Close

1 Oct Commissioned Choreographers Announced

3-7 Mar Dancehouse Season

12-14 Mar Carriageworks Season

To enter, make a video (maximum 5 minutes) outlining a new choreographic idea. Eight artists will be commissioned to develop a work of up to 20-minutes over a four-month period.

Each artist will receive a commissioning fee, proportionate to the scale of the work, for development and production costs. They will also receive 100 hours of free rehearsal space in the city or region in which they reside.

Find the Award Guidelines and more information on how to apply here.

Find the Application Form here.

For more information contact Rosie Fisher, Carriageworks’ Head Curator – Performance at

Presented by Carriageworks, Dancehouse, Keir Foundation and Australia Council for the Arts.

Paola Balla  Paola Balla is a Wemba-Wemba and Gunditjmara woman. Artist, curator, writer, lecturer and current PhD candidate at Victoria University. Paola lectures with Moondani Balluk Indigenous Academic Centre with recent curatorial projects include Sovereignty, ACCA, (2016) Unfinished Business, perspectives on art & feminism, ACCA (2017). Paola recently presented First Nations Dialogues at Performance Space New York. Paola is a member of the jury for KCA 2020.              
Serge Laurent  Serge Laurent has had curatorial roles at the Dijon dance festival, Printemps de Cahors Festival and the Centre Pompidou, before he was appointed Director of Dance and Arts programs at the Maison Van Cleef et Arpels. Serge is a member of the jury for KCA 2020.                    
Mette Edvardsen  Mette Edvardsen is a choreographer and performer. Although some of her works explore other media or other formats, such as video, books and writing, her interest is always in their relationship to performance as a practice and a situation. A current research fellow at Oslo National Academy of the Arts and associated artist at Black Box teater in Oslo. Mette is a member of the jury for KCA 2020.                    
Takao Kawaguchi  A member of the Japanese multimedia performance company Dumb Type, Takao Kawaguchi's latest works include: TOUCH OF THE OTHER (2015) and solo dance BLACKOUT (2018). Takao is a member of the jury for KCA 2020.