The Award increases the profile of and cultivates new audiences for contemporary dance within Australia by commissioning and presenting new choreographic works in a competitive context. The 2016 Keir Choreographic Award finalists are Ghenoa Gela, Rebecca Jensen, Martin Hansen and Sarah Aiken. Presented by Carriageworks, Dancehouse and the Keir Foundation.

James Batchelor on a 2 month residency at sea abroad the CSIRO investigator, Image Charles Tambiah